Best Irish FactsFacts on Ireland and the Irish

Dáil Éireann


Dail ChamberDáil Éireann is the House of Representatives and is the lower house of the National Parliament.

The National Parliament is known as the Oireachtas.

The Oireachtas consists of the President and two Houses.

In the general election of 1918, Sinn Féin won 73 seats.

They refused to sit in the House of Commons and sat in Dublin instead.

The first Dáil was convened on 21 January, 1919.

It met in the Mansion House, Dublin.

It was not recognised under British Law.

Nevertheless it declared an Irish Republic.

It was declared illegal in August 1919 and met in secret thereafter.

Under the 1920 Government of Ireland Act two Houses of Commons were established in Ireland, the Northern House of Commons and the Southern House of Commons.

Elections to both these Houses took place on 24 May, 1921.

Those Sinn Féin candidates elected to the Southern House of Commons refused to recognise it and instead met as the Second Dáil in order to ratify the Anglo-Irish Treaty.

The Southern House of Commons did in fact meet after the election but as only four Unionist members attended, it was adjourned without assigning a day for a further meeting.

It met in The Royal College of Science for Ireland in Merrion St, now Government Buildings.

Under the view of Republican Legitimatism, the Second Dáil has never been dissolved.

A member of Dáil Éireann is known as Teacta Dála or Dáil Deputy.

The number of Dáil Deputies is determined by the population figure from the last census.

It shall not be less than one for each thirty thousand or more than one for each twenty thousand of the population.

In the elections for the first Dáil (1918), three Sinn Féin candidates were elected in two different constituencies. Éamon de Valera, Arthur Griffith, and Liam Mellows.

In the elections for the second Dáil (1921), there was no polling in Southern Ireland as all the 128 seats were unopposed.

In the same election five Sinn Féin candidates were elected in constituencies in the North and the South. Michael Collins, Éamon de Valera, Arthur Griffith, Séan Milroy, and Éoin McNeill.

In the elections for the third Dáil (1922), Dan Breen ran on both the Pro-Treaty panel and the Anti-Treaty Panel. He was not elected.

In the elections for the fourth Dáil (1923), 44 Anti-Treaty Republicans were elected but did not take their seats. Two candidates were elected in two different constituencies. Michael Hayes and Éoin McNeill.

In the elections for the fifth Dáil (1927), all seats were contested for the first time. After the elections a senior government minister, Kevin O’Higgins, was assassinated.

In the elections for the sixth Dáil (1927), Jim Larkin was elected for Labour but was disqualified after the election. WT Cosgrave was elected in two constituencies. It was the last time that a TD was elected in two constituencies.

In the elections for the seventh Dáil (1932), the outgoing TD for Sligo-Leitrim was shot dead, delaying the election in that constituency for two weeks.

The eighth Dáil was elected in 1933.

The ninth Dáil was elected in 1937.

The tenth Dáil was elected in 1938. Two constituencies were unopposed. It was the last time that this would happen.

The eleventh Dáil was elected in 1943.

The twelfth Dáil was elected in 1944.

The thirteenth Dáil was elected in 1948. This was the Dáil that was dissolved over the proposed Mother and Child Act.

The fourteenth Dáil was elected in 1951.

The fifteenth Dáil was elected in 1954.

The sixteenth Dáil was elected in 1957.

The seventeenth Dáil was elected in 1961.

The eighteenth Dáil was elected in 1965.

The nineteenth Dáil was elected in 1969.

The twentieth Dáil was elected in 1973.

The twenty-first Dáil was elected in 1977.

The twenty-second Dáil was elected in 1981.

The twenty-third Dáil was elected in February, 1982.

The twenty-fourth Dáil was elected in November, 1982.

The twenty-fifth Dáil was elected in 1987.

The twenty-sixth Dáil was elected in 1989.

The twenty-seventh Dáil was elected in 1992.

The twenty-eighth Dáil was elected in 1997.

The twenty-ninth Dáil was elected in 2002.

The thirtieth Dáil was elected in 2007.

The thirtieth Dáil was dissolved on 1 February, 2011.

The thirty-first Dáil was elected on 26 February, 2011.

Back to D





©2011 Best Irish Facts

邮件营销| Spread| Email Marketing| 電郵推廣 Email Marketing| 邮件群发软件 搜尋引擎優化 SEO

Tomtop| TomTop

QR code scanner| inventory management system| labelling| Kiosk| warehouse management|

banner| foamboard| backdrop| pvc| printer| label| print shop| poster| business card| postcard| print services| printing company| name card| hk print| hong kong printing| Spray painting/banner/banner price| Backdrop/Backdrop price| Easy to pull / easy to pull frame price| Banner / printing / banner printing / printing quotation| Sticker / sticker printing| Leaflet / leaflet printing| Exhibition booth| Book printing| Bannershop/ebanner/eprint| Printing| Digital Printing|

地產代理/物業投資| 租辦公室/租寫字樓| 地產新聞| 甲級寫字樓/頂手| Grade A Office| Commercial Building / Office building| Hong Kong Office Rental| Rent Office| Office for lease / office leasing| Office for sale| Office relocation

Addmotor Electric Bike| Electric bike shop / electric bicycle shop| Electric bike review| Electric trike| Fat tire electric bike| Best electric bike| Electric bicycle| E bike| Electric bikes for sale| Folding electric bike| Electric mountain bike| Electric tricycle| Mid drive electric bike Juiced Bikes Pedego Rad-Power